of The Sullivan House
Sullivan House is named after Cornelius J. Sullivan, who purchased it
in 1927. A graduate of Harvard Law, Mr. Sullivan was a Manhattan lawyer,
patron of the arts, and member of the New York Board of Education.
His wife was Mary Sullivan, who taught art before her marriage and afterwards
became a collector, gallery owner and champion of Modernism. Mrs. Sullivan,
along with Miss Lillie P. Bliss and Mrs. John D. Rockefeller, was one
of the founders of New Yorks Museum of Modern Art.
The Sullivans were passionate about promoting the cause of Modernism
in America, and they were also involved in Irish and Irish-American
affairs. The Sullivans personal art collection reflected these
interests. It contained works by great Modernists such as Cézanne,
Matisse, Picasso, Van Gogh, Redon, Rauaults and Toulouse-Lautrec. And
it also had a strong Irish dimension with works by Jack Yeats and A.E.
Sullivan House was built in 1904 by Simon R. Ball, and is listed on
the Rhode Island Historical Register. Its architecture is unique with
beach stone exterior, all-wood interior, stone fireplace, large wrap-around
porch, distinctive gables, and quality construction.
Sullivan family is related to the current owners, the Ball-OBrien
family, on the paternal side. The
Ball family is related to the current owners on the maternal side.